Scripps Howard Awards

Honoring the best of American Journalism

The Scripps Howard Awards are one of the nation’s most prestigious American journalism competitions, offering $170,000 in prize money in 15 categories.

With a focus on high-impact reporting, the awards recognize journalism that spurs action, news organizations that go the extra mile to expose previously undisclosed or misunderstood information and journalists who embrace new tools, channels, technologies and approaches to provide more immersive experiences for their audiences.

The Scripps Howard Awards honor work from television stations, networks, radio and podcasts, visual media, online media outlets, independent producers, newspapers and print publications.

Watch the 68th Scripps Howard Awards


The 68th Scripps Howard Awards will honor the best of 2020 journalism with a virtual show on April 21, at 7 p.m. ET. Tune in on Facebook or YouTube.


View the list of finalists



The 68th Scripps Howard Awards competition will accept entries for 2020 work Dec. 1, 2020 - Feb. 5, 2021. Finalists will be announced on March 9. Winners will be announced on April 21 during a virtual awards show.


The Scripps Howard Awards have been celebrating the best in American journalism for 68 years, with past winners representing some of the most important journalism of recent times. Recent Scripps Howard Award winners include The New York Times, Vice News, San Francisco Chronicle, NPR, The Washington Post and The Kansas City Star. The 2019 Impact Award, chosen from the winners across all categories, went to the Anchorage (Alaska) Daily News for "Lawless," an ongoing reporting project focusing on sexual violence and breakdowns in law enforcement across Alaska.