photo of Scripps building in Cincinnati
Careers Investors

Scripps Howard Foundation names Top Ten Scholarship winners

June 19, 2001

CINCINNATI – The Scripps Howard Foundation today awarded $100,000 in scholarships to 10 college journalism students from across the U.S. who were nominated for the foundation’s Top Ten Scholarship.Each of the students will receive a $10,000 scholarship. The scholarship is a one-time award covering a full academic year.“The foundation’s Top Ten Scholarship program was created to identify and reward the brightest college journalism students in the country,” said Judith G. Clabes, president and CEO of the foundation. “This year’s scholarship winners have outstanding academic and professional credentials and represent a very bright future for journalism in America.”The winners were selected based on academic achievement and a demonstrated interest in a career in journalism. They also were required to submit a personal essay emphasizing their long-term goals. A special scholarship committee of industry professionals selected the winners.The “Top Ten” scholarships are offered annually to full-time students entering their junior or senior year. To qualify students must be enrolled for the full academic year in any journalism discipline. Students are nominated by the colleges and universities they attend. This year’s “Top Ten” winners are:–Ryan Clark, Western Kentucky University. Clark, a senior from Louisville, Ky., is features editor for the College Heights Herald, Western’s student newspaper. He has an internship at The Baltimore Sun this summer reporting sports and news.–Melissa M. Harris, Northwestern University. Harris, a senior from West Chester, Ohio, is a research assistant and clerk for Northwestern’s Medill School of Journalism. She has worked as a reporting intern for The Indianapolis Star and People Magazine.–Nicole Collins I’Anson, Florida A&M University. I’Anson, a senior from Williamsburg, Va., is a copy editor and editorial page editor for The Capital Outlook in Tallahassee, Fla. In 2000, she was a Dow Jones Newspaper Fund Intern at The New York Times.–Colleen Jenkins, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Jenkins, a senior from Clemmons, N.C., is an editorial intern at the Carolina Alumni Review Magazine. She is working this summer as a reporting intern at The St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times.–Nicholas Kowalczyk, Ohio University. Kowalczyk, a senior from Wakeman, Ohio, was an investigative reporter for The Post, an independent student-run daily newspaper in Athens, Ohio. He worked during the summer of 2000 as an intern at The Beacon Journal in Akron, Ohio.–Jodie Lau, Arizona State University. Lau, a senior from Phoenix, is city editor of The State Press, Arizona State’s student newspaper. She also has worked as a news anchor for the campus radio station, KASC-AM.–Andrew Noyes, American Univeristy. Noyes, a senior from Beckley, W. Va., is a reporter for States News Service in Washington D.C. and metro and national news editor for The Eagle, American University’s student newspaper.–Mike Osegueda, San Jose State University. Osegueda, a senior from Fremont, Calif., is executive editor of The Spartan Daily, San Jose State’s student newspaper. He is working this summer as a sports intern at The Fresno (Calif.) Bee.–Mary Schultes, University of Kansas. Schultes, a senior from Rolfe, Iowa, is a copy editor and readers’ representative for The University Daily Kansan, the student newspaper. She worked as an intern at The Fort Dodge (Iowa) Messenger during the summer of 2000.–Matthew Sheehan, University of Maryland, College Park. Sheehan, a senior from Sumter, S.C., is editor/vice president of The Diamondback, Maryland’s student newspaper. He will be working this summer as an intern at the St. Petersburg Times as part of the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund Internship program.Two runners-up for the scholarships also were named. They are:–Brian J. Holman, Indiana University. Holman, a senior from Jeffersonville, Ind., has worked as a staff writer and reporter for the Scripps Howard Foundation Wire in Washington D.C. –Emily Wagnitz, Washington State University. Wagnitz, a senior from Olympia, Wash., is a staff writer for the Daily Evergreen, Washington State’s student newspaper. Dedicated to excellence in journalism, the Scripps Howard Foundation is a leader in industry efforts in journalism education, scholarships, internships, literacy, minority recruitment/development and First Amendment causes.