photo of Scripps building in Cincinnati

Selecting finalists and winners for the Scripps Howard Awards each year is a rigorous and meticulous process.

Our judging panel is made up of media thought leaders, seasoned journalists and prominent journalism educators.

After thorough deliberation and evaluation, the panel of judges collaboratively narrowed down hundreds of entries to a select trio of finalists and, ultimately, a singular winner within each of the 14 categories. This intensive vetting process embodies the Scripps Howard Awards’ dedication to upholding the highest standards of journalistic achievement.

The finalists and winners, chosen through this rigorous process, serve as shining examples of exceptional journalism, setting the benchmark for excellence in the industry and inspiring the next generation of reporters and storytellers to pursue the highest standards of quality and integrity in their work.

Judges for the 70th Scripps Howard Awards include:


Andrew Alexander

Visiting Professional

Scripps College of Communication, Ohio University

Sarah Ashworth

Senior Vice President of Content

Vermont Public

Battinto Batts


The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Arizona State University

Maud Beelman

Executive Editor and Director

The Howard Center for Investigative Journalism, Arizona State University

Jourdan Bennett-Begaye


ICT (formerly Indian Country Today)

Kathy Best


The Howard Center for Investigative Journalism, Philip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland

Mary Kay Blake

Senior Vice President (Retired)

Freedom Forum/Newseum

Dorothy Bland


University of North Texas

David Boardman


Klein College of Media and Communication, Temple University

Michael Bolden

CEO and Executive Director

American Press Institute

Mark Briggs

Vice President of Digital Media Insights and Innovation

SmithGeiger Group

Jeff Brogan

Vice President and General Manager


Cindy Carcamo

Staff Writer

Los Angeles Times

Sewell Chan

Editor in Chief

The Texas Tribune

Kathy Chaney

Executive Editor

YR Media

Ingrid Ciprian-Matthews


CBS News

Peter Copeland

Washington Bureau Chief (Retired)

Scripps News Washington Bureau

Julio Cortez


The Associated Press

Bill Craven

NPR (Retired)

Eddith Dashiell


E.W. Scripps School of Journalism, Ohio University

Laura Davis



Subrata De

EVP & Global Head of Programming


Lane DeGregory

Enterprise Reporter

Tampa Bay Times

Steve Drummond

Executive Producer


Todd Franko

Executive Director

Georgia News Collaborative

Thomas French


Indiana University

Christina Hartman

Vice President

News Standards, Scripps News & Court TV, The E.W. Scripps Company

Anthony Hatcher

Professor/Chair of the Journalism Department

Elon University

Kate Howard

Deputy Editor

Reveal from the Center for Investigative Reporting

Rachael Larimore

Managing Editor

The Dispatch

Mark Lodato


S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University

Vernon Loeb

Executive Editor

Inside Climate News

Rafael Lorente


Philip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland

Meghan Louttit

Deputy National Editor

The New York Times

Eric Ludgood

Former Head of Scripps News

Scripps Networks

Mark Lukasiewicz


The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication, Hofstra University

Sean McLaughlin

Vice President

News, The E.W. Scripps Company

Lila Mills

Editor in Chief

Signal Cleveland

Sharon Moshavi


International Center for Journalists

Diana Moskovitz

Investigations Editor

Defector Media

Maggie Mulvihill

Associate Professor of the Practice in Computational Journalism

Boston University

Ron Nixon

Vice President

News and Head of Investigations, Enterprise, Partnerships and Grants, The Associated Press

Kennan Oliphant

Senior Director

Local News, WXYZ-TV

Sridhar Pappu


Mike Philipps

President & CEO (Retired)

Scripps Howard Foundation

David Plazas

Director of Opinion and Engagement

USA Today Network Tennessee

Amy Pyle

National Investigations Editor

USA Today

Akili Ramsess

Executive Director

National Press Photographers Association (NPPA)

Allan Richards

Associate Professor

Lee Caplin School of Journalism & Media, Florida International University

Amanda Ripley


Good Conflict

Alana Rocha


Rural News Network, Institute for Nonprofit News

Hillary Rosner

Assistant Director

Center for Environmental Journalism, University of Colorado Boulder

Eve Samples

Executive Director

Friends of the Everglades

Mike Siconolfi


The Wall Street Journal

Mizell Stewart III

President and CEO

Emerging Leaders, LLC

Jamie Stockwell

Executive Editor

Axios Local

Dick Tofel


Gallatin Advisory LLC

Laura Trujillo

Managing Editor

Life & Entertainment, USA Today

Ellen Weiss

Vice President and Washington Bureau Chief (Retired)

The E.W. Scripps Company

Julia Wilson


Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications, Hampton University