Scripps Howard Fund, AEJMC recognize administrator and teacher of the year

Feb. 20, 2024

SCRIPPS 🌃 HOWARD

FUND

CINCINNATI – The Scripps Howard Fund, in partnership with the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), is recognizing higher education leaders who help inspire and train the next generation of journalists and communication professionals.

The Fund's 2023 Administrator of the Year and Teacher of the Year recipients provide students with innovative ways to get real-world experiences in the industry. Winners receive a trophy and \$10,000.

The Scripps Howard Fund recognizes the Administrator and Teacher of the Year as part of the Scripps Howard Awards, one of the nation's most prestigious American journalism competitions.

Watch the 70th Scripps Howard Awards here.

The 71st Scripps Howard Awards will air in October on Scripps News, the national news network owned by The E.W. Scripps Company (NASDAQ: SSP).

Administrator of the Year winner: Ann Brill, University of Kansas

Ann M. Brill is dean of the University of Kansas William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications. In her time as dean, Brill led capital campaigns that more than tripled scholarship funds, made possible a \$7 million remodel of the university's 125-year-old Stauffer-Flint Hall, and led to the state's only doctoral program in mass communication. Under her leadership, the school has had a 100 percent success rate in promotion and tenures, undergone major core curriculum changes, and hired its first diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging (DEIB) curator to create a community of awareness and action related to DEIB. Brill has guided the school through three successful ACEJMC re-accreditations, grown research, endowment, scholarships and enrollment, and created a culture of excellence and achievement.

Administrator of the Year finalist: Laura Lindenfeld, Stony Brook University

Laura Lindenfeld is the dean of the School of Communication and Journalism and the executive director of the Alda Center for Communicating Science at Stony Brook University. In four years, she has led transformational change and inspired a new culture of excellence for the school. Lindenfeld reconfigured the school of journalism as the school of communication and journalism and aligned it with the Alda Center for Communicating Science as a solutions-oriented, collaborative unit that prioritizes diversity, equity, inclusion and engagement. The Alda Center's international reputation has allowed Stony Brook to attract top talent and helped spark a national conversation about how effective communication, particularly around science and research, can inspire engagement and community-driven problem solving around societal issues. Since becoming dean, Lindenfeld has doubled the size of tenure-track faculty and doubled student credit hours and enrollment. She led the design of four degree programs and overhauled two existing ones. Since Lindenfeld came to Stony Brook, she's raised more than \$15 million in philanthropic funding. She has grown the school's research enterprise, growing capacity for



federal grants. Lindenfeld also led the school successfully through Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications reaccreditation.

SCRIPPS 🛅 HOWARD

FUND

NEWS RELEASE

Teacher of the Year winner: Nicole Kraft, The Ohio State University

Nicole Kraft, an associate professor of practice at The Ohio State University, has helped shape the school's journalism curriculum. She also serves as director for the Sports and Society Initiative at Ohio State, which facilitates research, creates programming and provides students with career opportunities and readiness in the sports industry. Kraft, an awardwinning journalist, remains actively involved in the journalism industry - a sportswriter for the Associate Press, a contributor for The Columbus Dispatch and a contributor for Forbes.com covering sports trends. She uses her industry contacts to create learning opportunities and give students real-world experiences. Kraft has created several courses - sports journalism, sports media relations, enterprise reporting and feature writing. She also created an iPad focused journalism curriculum that teaches students to do their own digital media production and publication. Kraft's contributions have been recognized at the university and beyond. In 2022, she received OSU's highest teacher honor, the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching. That year, she was also named Inspirational Teacher of the Year by the Journalism Educators Association. Last year, she was recognized as OSU's Career Services Champion for fostering students' career-readiness in sports. Kraft has also received numerous AEJMC teaching awards.



Teacher of the Year finalist: Leon Alligood, Middle Tennessee State University

A former reporter and now associate professor at Middle Tennessee State University, Leon Alligood consistently looks for ways to engage with the industry inside and outside of the classroom. Prior to joining MTSU in 2008, Alligood worked as a journalist for 29 years. He was inducted into the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame in 2017. Through his connections, he's been able to bring more than 90 reporters and editors into his classes, representing a variety of media – print, online and television. His teaching extends beyond the classroom. He creates hands-on, innovative real-world experiences for his students. Alligood developed "The Road Trip" class, an immersive field experience that students take for credit. Each May, he takes journalism students to a different Tennessee town, where they spend three weeks telling the stories of that location. Alligood is a leader in improving the school's curriculum, including helping aspiring journalists become more engaged in investigating and telling the stories of communities facing injustice and mistreatment. He created the social justice journalism concentration – where students



must connect with and report on the communities that are often underserved. He also serves as an adviser to Sidelines, the award-winning student digital news agency. For 14 years, he has guided this student media organization, which has won regional and national acclaim.

Learn more about the Scripps Howard Awards at SHAwards.org.

Media contact: Molly Miossi, The E.W. Scripps Company, 513-977-3713, molly.miossi@scripps.com

About Scripps Howard Fund

The <u>Scripps Howard Fund</u>, a public charity established by <u>The E.W. Scripps Company</u> (NASDAQ: SSP), is dedicated to creating informed and engaged communities through journalism education, childhood literacy and local causes. At the crossroads of the classroom and the newsroom, the Fund is a leader in supporting journalism through scholarships, internships, minority recruitment and development and First Amendment causes. The Scripps Howard Awards stand as one of the industry's top honors for outstanding journalism. The Fund's annual "If You Give a Child a Book ..." childhood literacy campaign has distributed thousands of new books to children in need across the nation. The Fund partners with Scripps brands to create awareness of local issues and support organizations that build thriving communities. The Scripps Howard Fund administers funding for the Scripps Howard Foundation, a private foundation established in 1962 to advance charitable causes important to The E.W. Scripps Company and the Scripps and Howard families.