

Scripps Howard Fund, AEJMC honor Administrator and Teacher of the Year

June 26, 2023

CINCINNATI – The Scripps Howard Fund, in partnership with the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), is recognizing higher education leaders who are committed to developing the next generation of journalists.

The Fund's 2023 Administrator and Teacher of the Year recipients provide students with innovative ways to get real-world experiences and produce impactful journalism. Winners will receive a trophy and \$10,000.

Administrator of the Year winner: David Kurpius, dean, Missouri School of Journalism

Since taking over as dean in 2015, Kurpius has remained committed to keeping the School at the forefront of journalism education – routinely meeting with industry leaders to share his vision for the School's direction and seeking feedback. Kurpius is a champion of diversity, significantly increasing the hiring of underrepresented faculty and staff and helping the School earn the AEJMC Equity and Diversity Award in 2021. He has budgeted time and money to training faculty and staff to broaden their perspectives and identify and eliminate biases. In the last eight years, Kurpius raised more than \$80 million to fund faculty fellowships and student scholarships, expand local journalism, create a joint newsroom and improve student experiences. He encouraged students and faculty to develop new techniques to better serve audiences. An overhaul of the School's curriculum in concert with faculty resulted in the creation of new career-path classes, designed to serve the latest needs of news outlets and strategic communication organizations.



Administrator of the Year finalist: Alan Stavitsky, dean, Reynolds School of Journalism at the University of Nevada, Reno

Stavitsky has been dean of the Reynolds School of Journalism since 2012. Under his leadership, the Reynolds School has received the Online News Association's grand prize for Innovation in Journalism Education and AEJMC's Equity and Diversity Award, among other honors. He has launched new programs in Spanish-language media, film production and science and health communication and established the Project for the Revitalization of Local News. Stavitsky served as the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication president in 2022-2023. He was named a distinguished scholar by the Library of Congress for his research in broadcasting history and was inducted into the Nevada Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 2022.



Teacher of the Year winner: Rachel Young, University of Iowa

Young is an associate professor and director of undergraduate studies in the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Iowa, where she helps to revamp the school's curriculum to include more experiential learning opportunities and inclusive teaching practices. Her strategic communication courses connect media concepts and skills to real-world issues through community engagement. In 2017, Young developed an introductory community media course where students critique and create media about a social issue through partnership with a community organization. In 2021, Young developed the Coralville Media Collaborative, which connects journalism courses with nonprofit and civic organizations and small businesses. The initiative helps students practice strategic planning and media production while supporting transformative work already happening in the community.





NEWS RELEASE

Teacher of the Year finalist: Katie Place, professor of strategic communication, Quinnipiac University School of Communications

Place is committed to giving her students hands-on learning opportunities. By leveraging her leadership and membership in local and national professional organizations, she allows them to engage with industry professionals and make connections. Place has developed a variety of speaker series and events – bringing PR professionals and agency life to campus. In her strategic planning courses, students get real-world experiences, partnering with organizations that deal with fair housing and food security issues, disabilities, sustainability and immigration support. Since 2016, Place has served as the faculty adviser for QuinniPR and the school's Public Relations Student Society of America chapter.



The Scripps Howard Fund recognizes the Administrator and Teacher of the Year as part of the Scripps Howard Awards. The 70th Scripps Howard Awards will air at 8 p.m. ET, Sunday, Oct. 22, on Scripps News, the national news network owned by The E.W. Scripps Company.

Media contact: Molly Miossi, The E.W. Scripps Company, (513) 259-0731, molly.miossi@scripps.com

About the Scripps Howard Fund

The Scripps Howard Fund is a public charity that supports philanthropic causes important to The E.W. Scripps Company (NASDAQ: SSP) and the communities it serves, with a special emphasis on journalism education, excellence in journalism and childhood literacy. At the crossroads of the classroom and the newsroom, the Fund is a leader in supporting journalism through scholarships, internships, minority recruitment and development and First Amendment causes. The Scripps Howard Awards stand as one of the industry's top honors for outstanding journalism, and the Fund's annual "If You Give a Child a Book ..." childhood literacy campaign has distributed thousands of new books to children in need across the nation. In support of its mission to create a better-informed world, the Fund also partners with Scripps brands to create awareness of local issues and support organizations that help build thriving communities. The Scripps Howard Foundation, an affiliated organization with the Scripps Howard Fund, supports Scripps' charitable efforts through its endowment, key assets and major donations.