Careers Investors

Scripps Howard Awards entries open Dec. 1; midterm elections is Topic of the Year

Nov. 16, 2018 By Kari Wethington

CINCINNATI – The Scripps Howard Awards, one of the nation’s most prestigious American journalism competitions, will accept entries from Dec. 1 to Feb. 8 for reporting and storytelling that gives light and changes lives.

The Awards’ 66th competition will present $170,000 in prize money for work across 16 categories.
The awards will be presented on April 18, 2019, with a live show hosted by Michelle Miller, co-host of “CBS This Morning: Saturday.”

With a focus on high-impact reporting, the awards recognize journalism that spurs action, news organizations that go the extra mile to expose previously undisclosed or misunderstood information, and journalists who embrace new tools, channels, technologies and approaches to provide more immersive experiences for their audiences.

Among categories including Visual Journalism, Environmental Reporting, Breaking News and Community Journalism, the Awards’ 66th competition continues with the Topic of the Year category, the focus of which is “The Midterm Elections.”

The Scripps Howard Awards honor work from television stations, networks, radio and podcasts, visual media, online media outlets, independent producers, newspapers and print publications.

“Journalism sheds light on the people, issues and events of our world through stories that shape our collective history,” said Liz Carter, president and CEO of the Scripps Howard Foundation, which administers the Awards. “Steeped in the proud tradition of the free press, the Scripps Howard Awards pay tribute to the dedicated journalists who pursue the truth with tenacity, honesty and courage.”

The 2019 awards will bring back the Impact Award – introduced last year to honor the finest work from among the winners of all Scripps Howard Awards categories. The Impact Award recognizes journalism that serves the public through coverage of an issue leading to changes in the public, private or business sector.

Past winners of the Scripps Howard Awards have represented some of the most important journalism of recent times. In 2018, The New York Times took home the Impact Award after winning the Investigative Reporting category for its series that uncovered stories of sexual assault across the country. The series led to cascading workplace investigations, criminal inquiries and inspired the #MeToo movement. Other 2018 winners included Vice News, San Francisco Chronicle, NPR, The Washington Post and The Kansas City Star.

Finalists will be announced on Feb. 26, with winners announced on March 5. The awards show will be held at historic Memorial Hall in Cincinnati on April 18.

Keep up with the latest news on the Scripps Howard Awards through Facebook and Twitter, and find out more about how to enter at

About the Scripps Howard Foundation
The Scripps Howard Foundation supports philanthropic causes important to The E.W. Scripps Company (NASDAQ: SSP) and the communities it serves, with a special emphasis on excellence in journalism. At the crossroads of the classroom and the newsroom, the Foundation is a leader in supporting journalism education, scholarships, internships, minority recruitment and development, literacy and First Amendment causes. The Scripps Howard Awards stand as one of the industry’s top honors for outstanding journalism. The Foundation improves lives and helps build thriving communities. It partners with Scripps brands to create awareness of local issues and supports impactful organizations to drive solutions.

Media contact:
Kari Wethington, The E.W. Scripps Company, 513-977-3763,