KTTS named Station of the Year by CMA

Mon, October 10, 2016 by Valerie Miller

CINCINNATI – KTTS 94.7 FM in Springfield, Missouri, has been named by the Country Music Association as the 2016 Small Market Station of the Year.

The Country Music Association on Friday announced some of its industry winners for the 2016 CMA Awards through a video message by country singer Garth Brooks.

“Station of the Year by the CMA is a respected and significant honor in our industry,” said Steve Wexler, vice president of Scripps’ radio division. “This award represents the non-stop work by the entire KTTS team, which is dedicated to delivering meaningful radio for our local audiences.”

KTTS, owned by The E.W. Scripps Company (NYSE: SSP), has been serving the Springfield community for more than 40 years. It is Springfield’s only station to provide live and local news, information and music 24 hours a day and seven days a week.

The honor caps an award-winning year for the station: KTTS earlier won Station of the Year from the Academy of Country Music.

“To win both big honors this year is a strong statement about the high level of community service happening at KTTS,” said Rex Hansen, general manager for KTTS. “The industry recognizes the impact we have in our community. We care about our town and the people in it, and our audiences appreciate the depths we go to tell a story.”

In addition to its country music focus, the award-winning newsroom provides life-saving weather updates and covers local news. Its coverage of a local abduction and murder garnered a national Edward R. Murrow Award in 2015 for best newscast in a small market. It was the second national Murrow award for the KTTS news team. The first came in 2012 for its coverage of the Joplin, Missouri, tornado.

KTTS won the NAB Crystal Award in 2015. It recognizes a select group of radio stations for outstanding year-round commitment to community service.

The CMA also gave individual recognition to KTTS host Cash Williams, who is on the KTTS Morning Show with Summer Stevens and was nominated for Personality of the Year.

KTTS staff members will travel to Nashville to accept the station honor at the 50th annual CMA Awards on Nov. 2.

About Scripps
The E.W. Scripps Company (NYSE: SSP) serves audiences and businesses through a growing portfolio of television, radio and digital media brands. Scripps is one of the nation’s largest independent TV station owners, with 33 television stations in 24 markets and a reach of nearly one in five U.S. households. It also owns 34 radio stations in eight markets. Scripps also runs an expanding collection of local and national digital journalism and information businesses, including multi-platform satire and humor brand Cracked, podcast industry leader Midroll Media and over-the-top video news service Newsy. Scripps also produces television shows including “THE LIST” and “The Now,” runs an award-winning investigative reporting newsroom in Washington, D.C., and serves as the long-time steward of the nation’s largest, most successful and longest-running educational program, the Scripps National Spelling Bee. Founded in 1878, Scripps has held for decades to the motto, “Give light and the people will find their own way.”

Media contacts:
Valerie Miller, The E.W. Scripps Company, 513-977-3023
Valorie Knight, KTTS Operations, 417-447-1822

  Download PDF Version